CCM Denver Reaches New Heights

Top Talent Joined 200×85 in the Mile High City for an Unforgettable Weekend

The puck must move faster at high altitude because at nearly seven goals a game, there was no shortage of excitement at 2022 CCM Denver. This past weekend 79 teams from 2012s to U16 age groups combined for 1,264 goals in 184 games, in Denver, Colorado. The event had eight teams summit the mountain and claim the hardware, five of which did so with an undefeated record on the weekend.

Boys 2012

The Las Vegas Storm scored 32 goals on their path to the final versus the Nashville Warriors. The Storm and Jonah Moncayo, Howie’s Hockey 2012 Division MVP, continued to flex their offensive abilities in the championship, netting five goals to cap off an undefeated weekend with a 5-2 final over the Warriors.

Boys 2011

Both finalists of the 2011 division entered undefeated and neither was ready to yield. We witnessed a wild game with 17 goals! In the end, the Boulder Roughriders edged out the Nashville Warriors by a 9-8 final score. Aiden Lejune of the Roughriders was awarded the Howie’s Hockey 2011 Division MVP.

Boys 2010

There was plenty of parity in the 2010 division. The Utah Jr. Mustang’s upset victory over Team Colorado in the semi-finals set them up to face off with the St. Louis Knights, hot off an 8-2 victory. The Knight’s only loss was to Team Colorado, and now they were set to play the only team that beat Team Colorado. In a tightly contested final, the Knights and Trevor Steiner, Howie’s Hockey 2010 Division MVP, came out on top 3-1.

Boys 2009

Surrendering only one goal per game before the final, the San Jose Jr. Sharks were unstoppable. The Texas Warriors were going to have their hands full. In the round robin, the Jr. Sharks got the best of the Warriors by a final score of 2-1, and the championship was no different. Drew Larioza, Howie’s Hockey 2009 Division MVP, and the Jr. Sharks finished their weekend sweep with a 3-1 victory.

Boys 2009 AAA

The Colorado Thunderbirds made quick work of the round robin finishing with a perfect record. The biggest challenge they had faced was the Arizona Bobcats, and sure enough, they had a rematch in the final. The Bobcats put forth a strong effort but Nate Neyer, Howie’s Hockey 2009 AAA Division MVP, and the Thunderbirds were able to come out ahead by a final of 6-5 and complete their weekend sweep.

Boys 2008 AA

The 2008 AA division was the largest division of the event and all four teams in the semi-finals came in undefeated. The Tampa Bay Crunch made a statement with their 9-3 semi-final victory. They were set to battle the Littleton Hawks, entering the championship off of a 5-1 win. The home state team proved too much for the Crunch to handle. Zach Edwards, Howie’s Hockey 2008 Division MVP, and the Hawks won 6-1 and completed their undisputed championship.

Boys 2008 AAA

The Rocky Mountain RoughRiders and Nashville Warriors both won their semi-final games by a goal and were ready to face off in the final. The RoughRiders were coming in undefeated and the Warriors with only one loss, which was to the RoughRiders. In an attempt to avenge their only loss, the Warriors battled hard in this tight-matched final. The final buzzer read 2-1 in favor of the RoughRiders. Despite the RoughRider’s perfect weekend and championship victory, the Howie’s Hockey 2008 AAA Division MVP was awarded to Alex Smyth of the Warriors.

Boys 16U

The SC Flyers won all four round-robin games and their semi-final and were on the verge of a perfect weekend. Their opponent, the Phoenix Jr. Coyotes had two round-robin losses, one of those losses versus the SC Flyers. Despite their slow start to the tournament the Jr. Coyotes and Cody Bjorndal, Howie’s Hockey 16U AAA Division MVP, returned the favor defeating the SC Flyers 5-2, robbing them of a perfect weekend and the championship.

Posted in

Recent News